The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)

I’ve mentioned that I love to read. I really, really love to read. Now that school is out for the summer, I can’t wait to get started on my wish list that I started on Pinterest and the stack of books on my bedside table. Just gonna let you know now- I’m a re-reader. If I find a book that I really like I will read it over and over again. Pillars of the Earth, by Ken Follett is one of those for me. I have read it so many times I’ve lost count! It’s also the book that I will recommend to any one who asks me if I’ve read any good books recently. (By the way, the answer will always be yes. It’s just a matter of what you’re in the mood for 🙂 )

The Pillars of the Earth is the story of several people that is centered around the building of a cathedral in England in the 12th century. It’s one of those books  where the lives of these six or so main characters intertwine over the course of many years, and Ken Follett does this oh so well. It’s got a little bit of everything- romance, mystery, murder, revenge, the triumph of good over evil…and I feel I have to warn you- it’s huge. It’s quite large. But so worth the read. Starz made it into a mini-series last summer and it was done extraordinarily well. I’m of the opinion that the book should always be read before the movie is seen but I realize that this is a huge book. And since this movie really sticks to the book (thanks to Ken Follett being on set) I think it would be acceptable to see this before reading. Hey, it might even move you to read the book to get more of the story! That’s what happened to my friend Ashley- I’ve been telling her to read this book for years! She finally watched the show and I think she might read the book now….:) Also, the show is 8 1-hour episodes which might give you an idea of how long the book is. I also have this book (from audible.com) on my ipod….call me obsessed, but I know a good book when I’ve found it and this is one of them. Happy Reading!

-K

3 Comments

Filed under Books

3 responses to “The Pillars of the Earth (Ken Follett)

  1. I recently bought this, and the sequel, and though it seems really interesting, I’m a bit reluctant to start it because it’s so long!

    Like

  2. Adrienne

    I am almost done with “Pillars” and you get so involved that you don’t even realize how long it is.. Hope you enjoy them 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

