cupcakes

Am I the only one who gets really excited about the food part of big family events?

I promise, my first thought for weddings is always how excited I am for the happy couple getting hitched. Especially in this case!!

I will also admit that the second thought always follows quite quickly: “Hm.. I wonder what their menu/dessert will be like…” . Embarrassing, I know. It’s so fun to see how every bride chooses differently though! For instance, I loved what my cousin did with the dinner- she had a Mediterranean station with gyros and tzaziki, an Italian station with delicious pasta, meatballs, and sausage, and a meat carving station. She also had a salad station where all the salads were in cute little glasses- totally adorable. She also had a dessert bar… and I was on duty as personal attendant to refill empty candy containers. (best job. EVER.) Well hello there, mr. pretzel m&m!

K and I had such a wonderful time in MI, as she already told you. Our family has always been very close, and in the past two years, we have discovered how much we can depend on each other during wedding seasons. My aunt Jodi and her 3 daughters all flew out for K and my weddings in 2010 and basically put together all the little details themselves! And we went out for our cousin’s wedding last August and now last weekend and tried to do the same for them. When K said that we got 18 hours of sleep the whole weekend, she meant 18 hours from Wednesday through Sunday. There’s no way we are going to waste time sleeping when we only see our extended family twice a year! We don’t kid around.

The nice thing about our family visits is that no one ever stays at a hotel- so while you are there, you are saturated with family! No ‘let’s meet up for lunch on Wednesday while you’re here’ nonsense- lunch is in the crockpot and you eat when you’re hungry with everyone else. Unless your hands are glued together from making the adorable poms for the wedding decor. Then you need someone to feed you, and there’s usually a spare cousin around to do that.

Speaking of crockpot lunches and delicious food, did I tell you that my aunt Jodi is an astounding flavor master? What I mean by that is, pretty much anything she whips up in the kitchen will have your mouth dancing for days. I shall return to you with recipes as soon as she shares them with me… Oh and I can’t forget about my aunt Julie- her pineapple pretzel salad is to die for. Sounds weird, but somehow those flavor mix together to form something your taste buds with thank you for.

Until I can share those foods with you, let me show you my mom in all her cupcake glory. Isn’t she cute? We had the huge pleasure of throwing a bridal shower for Delaine while we were there, and decided on cupcakes for the dessert. Being that we had to make a lot of cupcakes in a short amount of time, my mom used her fool-proof recipe. The best thing about this recipe is that these babies taste like bakery desserts- soft and springy, yet moist and bursting with flavor. They are versatile too, and can handle many different flavors of frosting. We stuck to vanilla and chocolate, because sometimes simple is just plain and unadulterated delish.

Enjoy!
~M

Bridal Shower Cupcakes

for the vanilla variety
1 box betty crocker yellow cake mix

8 oz. Greek yogurt (or sour cream)

1/2 cup canola oil

1/2 cup water

2 egg whites

for the chocolate variety

the only thing that changes for the chocolate kind is that you use the whole 2 eggs, not just the whites.

Directions: so simple- follow the directions on the cake mix!

Heat oven to 350 degrees.

Line a cupcake pan with baking cups (paper cups are preferable). Mix cake mix, yogurt (or sour cream), oil, water, and egg whites in mixer for about 30 seconds on low speed, then on medium speed for about 2 minutes, occasionally scraping down the sides of the bowl.

Pour into cups, and bake as directed or until toothpick comes out clean. We discovered that overbaking them really affects the outcome, so make sure you watch them closely! Plan on having them in the oven between 20-26 minutes and check often during those last few minutes.

Frosting


1-2 cans of the Betty Crocker buttercream frosting, with your choice of food coloring.

1 tsp. vanilla extract (optional)

Delaine’s wedding colors were blush and ivory, so just a drop or two of red food coloring gave us that perfect shade.

2 Comments

Filed under Family

2 responses to “cupcakes

  1. I love this post! You guys were great to have around at the wedding, but I’d have you around with nothing to do, too! I’m glad you liked the posole, but Delaine would maybe disagree with your assessment that everything I make tastes good… .ask her about my recent caramel chicken efforts… 🙂
    Aunt Jodi

    Like

  2. Pingback: Happy November! | dutch sisters create

Leave a Reply

