Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

These, my friends, are what you’ve been waiting for. All of the classic deliciousness of chocolate chip cookies, all the richness and creaminess of a peanut butter cookie, and a bit of salty pretzel crunch as a curveball that scores the home run. I’ve had this cookie recipe bookmarked for months- but kept putting off baking them because I knew that once that mixer got those ingredients combined, there was no stopping the energizer bunny that is my mouth.

I love love love cookies. My great-aunt Kathy used to bring me cookies every once in a while at college, and they were always gone within a few days. She made the puffiest peanut butter chocolate chip cookie you ever saw, and the chewiness and melt-in-your-mouth taste left me licking the plate clean wondering why in the world I shared them with my roommates. Ever since then, peanut butter chocolate chip cookies have been my absolute favorite. Until I saw this recipe, which added crushed pretzels!!

I can’t resist the salty-sweet combo- I promise I only had seven  two bites of cookie dough.

 
 
 
 
 
 
Ok, I have to  be honest. I didn’t even bake these! Katie and I spent all our time figuring out how we were going to make this combined blog work and the little sister decided she wanted to bake something while we played on our computers. “What should I bake?” dear little sister asked. And my mind immediately went to that wonderful cookie that I knew would cause me to lose all control. I pointed at the poor neglected little recipe on my printer and set her to the task, while we worked hard on our blog all afternoon.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Obviously, hard at work.
And then we had a cookie! And you should, too.
 
 
 
~M
 
 
 
 
Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies 
 makes about 3 dozen medium cookies
 
1 1/2 cup flour
1/2 tsp baking soda
1 1/2 sticks (12 Tbsp) unsalted butter at room temperature
1 1/4 cups sugar
1 cup creamy peanut butter
2 eggs, room temperature
3 cups pretzels, chopped
1 1/3 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
1/2 tsp salt
 
Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.
In a large bowl, combine butter, sugar, and PB and beat with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Add eggs and mix until combined. Add flour, salt, and baking soda and mix until combined. Mix in 1/2 cup of crushed pretzels and chocolate chips.
Place remaining crushed pretzels in a small bowl. Using a spoon or cookie scoop, drop balls of dough into crushed pretzels and roll lightly to coat. Then place on cookie sheet.
Bake for 12 min, the cookies will look slightly underbaked when you take them out. This is GOOD! That means they will stay nice and chewy for the whole two days they last on your counter 🙂
 
 

 
3 Comments

Filed under Food Stuffs.

3 responses to “Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Pretzel Cookies

  1. These sound so good! I am awarding you the Leibster Award. Please stop by my blog for more details….

    Like

    • Let us know what you think! And thank you for the award!! We didn’t know what it was at first either, but we had the same reaction you did- jumping up and down with excitement! We are honored and loving this new hobby! Your blog is wonderful!

      Like

      • We are loving the hobby too, it’s motivational to actually get stuff done; which we definitely need. We’ll be following you and checking out all of your latest creations. Happy Holidays!

        Like

Leave a Reply

