The Thornbirds (Colleen McCullough)

Even though this is my ‘new copy’, the back cover is missing….

This is another one of my favorite books that I just read recently- for probably the 22nd time. My friend Jess gave this copy to my for my birthday a couple years ago.

She got a new copy because she saw my tattered hand-me-down one falling apart on my bedside table. It looked pretty rough. There may have been an entire roll of tape involved. I remember her making fun of me for keeping such an old, messed-up book….and then getting me a new copy 🙂 Such a good friend.

This is kind of a throwback book by McCullough, I’ve checked out some of her other books and there are none that have really caught me like this one- Before this she has written a lot of books based in Rome, B.C., so this is a totally different era for her.  It’s another one that spans over many years and follows three main characters. It’s starts in New Zealand and follows the Cleary family to Australia where a new and better life awaits them. It really is a beautiful story- a romance mainly- but there is illicit love, a little bit of politics (not much, or I’d be completely bored), family secrets, and every day struggles. Fiona (Fee), Meggie, and Justine are the three protagonists- mother, daughter, and granddaughter. Throughout the book Meggie grows up and later discovers how some of her mother’s choices mirror her own and eventually alter her relationship with her own daughter. There is a T.V series that was done in the 80’s and I could not get into it. They stuck to the book really well for the most part but I think it really bugged me that Meggie didn’t have ‘titian hair’ in it. Sounds kind of lame saying it out loud (or would that be ‘on internet’?) but it’s true. If I remember correctly, she had black hair on the show. Brown is at least close, but black? C’mon. So I don’t recommend watching the show, but that’s just my inability to adapt to other people’s perception of what titian hair looks like.

Like our nicknames? Mine’s eitak….:)

This is a good, meaty (as in, not fluffy) novel that goes really well with a cup of coffee and followed with some Momma/Sister/Daughter time….Speaking of which, I believe M. and I are due for some hangout time at WholeFoods….

In the words of my baby sister, ‘I remember the first time I read the Thornbirds….it was magical. Magical.’

-K

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Family

3 responses to “The Thornbirds (Colleen McCullough)

  1. Fantastic novel,.Thank you .Jalal

    Like

  2. What about the fact that they pronounce the L in Ralph?? That drove me bonkers

    Like

Leave a Reply

