Taco Salad

It is waaay too hot to cook in my house right now. Our AC is not working and I am someone who keeps her house at 67 degrees (summer or winter). Ask any houseguests 🙂

So, in order to feed Curtis and myself last night I had to find a light meal that required minimal stove/oven time. We had taco salad! Mom made this all the time when I still lived at home, and I love it.

I used canned chicken (drained) because it’s already cooked and all you have to do is heat it up really quickly.

I accidentally got whole ones…oh well. They dice easily.

I mixed it up with diced green chiles and taco seasoning on the stove and left it alone.

While that heated up I diced tomatoes and onions, cut some cilantro, and got some lettuce ready on the plates.

By then the meat was heated and I put it all together and mixed it up with the lettuce and some salsa, cheese, and sour cream.

Instead of forks, we used multigrain tortilla chip scoops and had it more as a dip. I served it all up with ice cold beer in front of a humongous fan.

Perfect Summer Dinner!

I should move to Alaska….or Antarctica….or just get the AC fixed asap. Monday at 2 can’t come soon enough!

-K

P.s. Even though it was super hot last night I did manage to finish my little wood burning project!

Next time I think I’ll make the words bigger….

Leave a comment

Filed under Crafts, Food Stuffs., Woodworking

Leave a Reply

