Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

When I was younger, there were certain things I refused to eat. Mexican cuisine was probably on my “Top 3” all-time despised food list. Cilantro? Ugh. Sour Cream? Gag me. All those weird saucy things like salsa verde and even the regular ol’ salsa for the chips? Just pass me the cereal.

But then… I met my ‘would-be’ husband. I met him way back in high school, and when his family would invite me to go with them to dinner, most times it was to the family favorite- a mexican place! Of course I was so excited to go (and probably a little nervous  back then) but I was always worried about what in the world I would eat?!

I always (and I mean ALWAYS) ordered just a regular steak and cheese quesadilla. No beans, no rice, no salsa, and of course no sour cream. Just cheese and meat, baby.  To me, sour cream just shouted,”CURDLED MILK!!!” And I could not fathom even touching it. One fateful day, I ordered what I thought was a quesadilla, only to receive something completely different. I don’t even remember what it was, but I. Loved. It. And I was never the same.

Oh, how my life has changed for the better. I almost get tearful thinking of all those years I was missing out on something as wonderful as Mexican food. Live and learn, guys. Live and learn.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Now, mexican food is easily one of my absolute favorite things to eat. Tacos, chili relleno’s, chips and salsa, burrito supreme, ensalada de camarones, you name it. Oh, and I slather an unhealthy amount of sour cream on ALL of it.

How does that work? When do our taste buds just decide to all the sudden like something? I don’t get it. But I SURE appreciate it!

These tacos are a super fast, healthy and pretty authentic tasting. When I say super fast, I mean, like mayyybe 10 minutes. Depends on how fast you can use a can opener.

If I had a few kids that were old enough to open cans, I think I could call this the 90 second weekday meal, and I’m pretty sure moms everywhere would thank me. Unless, of course, their kids are like me when I was younger and refused to try anything that wasn’t Cheerios or my mom’s spaghetti.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

All you need to do for this, is have some canned chicken breast, fresh cilantro, lime juice, and black beans for the ‘meat part’. I usually use two cans of shredded chicken, squeeze 3-4 big squeezes of lime juice from the container (or the juice of 2 limes), 1 can of black beans, and however much chopped cilantro you desire. Stir that up in a bowl and it tastes AWESOME cold. Don’t even have to heat it up! Unless you prefer it that way, then you can. But I have never tried heating it up so that one’s for you to try.

Then the rest is up to you and your family! We chopped some iceberg lettuce, tomatoes, cucumbers (cucumbers are KEY, just try it. PLEASE just try it.) refried beans, sour cream, and cheese. We also had many options of tortillas- in the pictures I used tostadas, which were delicious, but hard to eat. Joey and my little sister went the Taco Bell route and slathered a soft flour tortilla with refried beans, then wrapped it around a hard taco, THEN filled it with all the good stuff! I forget what those are called, but having both the crunch factor AND the chewy factor must have been dynamite.

This meal is perfect for these summer nights where just the thought of turning on the oven makes you want to cry. These are fast, easy, and refreshing. And also fun to build!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Go get your fiesta on!

~M

Cilantro Lime Chicken Tacos

serves 4-5

Ingredients:

2 10-12 oz cans of chicken

1 can black beans

handful of chopped fresh cilantro

juice of 2 limes, or 3-4 big squeezes from a lime container

(Mix all of these ingredients in a medium size bowl until incorporated. Then set aside.)

Additional toppings

chopped fresh tomato

salsa

sour cream

shredded cheese

shredded lettuce

***chopped cucumbers**** SO GOOD!!

refried beans

flour or corn tortillas, or tostadas

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

