Entering Soup Season….Finally!

I don’t know what makes it ‘soup season’ for me. Maybe just the shift from August to September does it for me, I don’t know! It’s still hot here but I just love soups. They are flavorful, comforting meals that can be ‘souper’ (hehe, sorry, I had to) healthy and fast while also filling you up and giving you leftovers. Which, as we all know just get better the second day. Why is that? Anyone know?

I accidentally (?) took a really long nap yesterday and woke up around the time Curtis was ready to eat, and I had nothing to offer. He, being the kind soul that he is, said (and I quote) ‘I’ll run to the store and grab something real quick.’ I was thinking more along the lines of rotisserie chicken or something, and he comes home with 5 bags of groceries, all ready to cook a hot meal! I love this man. When I saw he was making my favorite soup, I begged him to let me take notes so I could share the recipe.

Look at him 🙂

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Apparently the man has been watching Julie & Julia over my shoulder because he immediately busts out the famous ‘Julia Child’ voice. ‘Add the sah-ha-halt….and the peppah…’ Hilarious.

Basically, you dump all the veggies in a stock pot with low sodium chicken broth and bring to a boil while you cut and cook the chicken. Once the chicken is done, add it to the soup and let it simmer another ten minutes or so! Best meal ever on a night when you A) took too long a nap B) have no time to spend chopping a buncha stuff C) still want a hot meal that isn’t fast food.

The result is a wonderful soup/stew that just warms your tummy and makes you feel like you just had the day off rather than a really long hard workday 🙂

Chock full of yumminess!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

P.s. I asked Curtis for the name of this recipe, and he said,’ Soup.’

So, there ya go.

-K

Soup

3/4 small bag petite frozen white corn

1/2 bag frozen winter medley (cauliflower and broccoli)

2 cans green beans (drained)

2 cans sliced white potatoes (drained)

1 can diced garlic basil oregano tomatoes (NOT DRAINED)

1 can water chestnuts

48 oz low sodium chicken broth

3 pieces boneless skinless chicken breasts

Combine all vegetables in a stock pot with most of the chicken broth, leaving about 1 1/2 cups chicken broth for later. While the veggies are heating up (bring it to a boil) cut the chicken into pieces and cook with salt and pepper in a saute pan. Once the chicken is cooked all the way through, add the remaining chicken broth and cover on medium heat. Let sit for 3-4 minutes then add to stock pot. Let that simmer for about 10 minutes then serve with garlic bread or crusty French bread.

**I have not tried making this soup ever, but using fresh veggies would be amazing also! The reason this soup is so great, though, is that it’s so quick and using fresh would take longer, but taste phenomenal. So that part is up to you, but just take into account that it would take quite a bit longer**

This recipe could feed probably 3-4 people (taking into account that people will be having seconds, cuz they will.)

…..or it feeds two, leaving leftovers for a few happy days 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Food Stuffs., Soup

Leave a Reply

