Bun in the Oven

 

 

 

 

 

 

~~A Special Update from M~~

Joey and I are going to be parents!!! Just typing those words makes a huge smile come to my face. We found out in June that I was pregnant, and it was the best news of my life! This is our little kiddo up there in that picture, about 20 weeks and 3 days old. We had our ultrasound last week and our doctor said everything looks fantastic- which was the news that we were praying to hear!

My due date is February 19, 2013- which means I have about 125 days to go… seems like both a small and huge number at the same time, somehow! Now for all those questions everyone is wondering about…

How far along? 21 weeks, 6 days (basically 5 1/2 months)

Boy or Girl??? It’s a surprise!! We decided not to find out until baby is born… sometimes it’s a killer not to know, but we are so excited for it to be a surprise on the big day!

Maternity clothes? Here and there, I still wear my regular jeans but use the rubber band trick- but the comfiest clothes to wear are DEFINITELY the maternity clothes 😉

Stretch marks? None yet! I’ve always been a lotion lover, but I have yet to buy the special pregnancy stuff to prevent stretch marks. Oops.

Sleep? Sleeping wonderfully- besides waking up with a sore neck every now and then.

Any movement yet? Yes, yes, YES! I can honestly say it is the most beautiful thing I’ve felt in my life. Brings tears of happiness to my eyes a little too often when I feel those flutters and kicks!

Any cravings? No, not anymore. Now that I’ve been feeling better, I am back to my normal eating habits- minus my sweet tooth!!? However, the first trimester, I must have eaten my weight and more in Pizza Plus Sandwiches and Cinnamon Toast Crunch. Yikes. Glad that’s over, couldn’t have ended very well.

Been feeling good? Feeling great. Once the second trimester started, it was like a cloud lifted and I just felt awesome! The first few months were somewhat miserable though- felt pretty icky all day and threw up quite often. My little sister was witness to my pulling over off the freeway once to throw up- it came that suddenly! So happy that is over, and praying to the dear Lord that the third trimester continues to be enjoyable!

Showing yet?? I’ve thought I’ve been showing for a few weeks now, but no one else really did- until this week I definitely popped! See for yourself!

Me at 19 weeks….

Me at 20 weeks!

Definitely feels a little strange to be gaining all this weight… but it doesn’t bother me because we have a baby growing in there! In fact, I have been able to exercise somewhat regularly during these past few months, but definitely less strenuously and not before work in the morning, like I used to. That’s one thing I’ve noticed too- I need my beauty sleep! Not much of a napper, but I have definitely snuck one or two in on my days off.

Now that I’ve been feeling better, I will say that I miss my daily coffees… now that the riskiest part of the pregnancy is behind me, I have a small cup of coffee on special occasions. And it is ah-mazing. I usually mix it with milk and a non-fat mocha mix for some added calcium for my babe! I also miss wine… but no indulging in THAT until well after Baby VS is born!

I’m looking forward to some stronger kicks from our little kiddo in there so Joey can feel it… He falls asleep with his hand on my tummy every night which I think is sweet. He’s already very protective of baby and me- he’s going to be an amazing dad. I feel very blessed to be married to such an amazing man who loves the Lord with all his heart, and takes such good care of me/us.

Quick little story about when I found out I was pregnant… in case you want to listen 🙂 I actually was getting a little frustrated with not being pregnant yet, even though it had only been a few months. I went to my doctor just for a check-up and she warned me that it could be a year or two before it happened for us- not for any particular reason, but just because sometimes it took people that long. I went home pretty dejected. Two days later I took a pregnancy test at work and it was POSITIVE!! God’s timing, maybe? I think so 🙂

I had always had a plan for how I wanted to tell Joey the exciting news… Joey, when he was a little kid, used to wait for his dad to come in from the dairy for lunch, and would make his Dad a ‘Daddy Sandwich’- which was just toast and jam made into a sandwich. How sweet, right? Well, that was my plan… to make him just that for dinner that night! However… my plans were waylaid when a coworker of mine found the wrapper to my pregnancy test in the bathroom trashcan. She asked me about it after she saw it- and the excitement on my face gave me away in an instant. So my coworkers found out even before my own husband!? I was pretty bummed at first. I couldn’t bear the idea of working for 6 more hours keeping that secret from Joey so I called him from work and blurted the news out right away! His reaction didn’t disappoint- the excitement in his voice almost brought me to tears! So, I didn’t get to do my exciting plan, but that’s life, I guess- and the important thing is that we are going to be a family of 3 in February next year!

Well… anyways, I could talk about this for 5,000 more words so I’ll let this be the end of this update 🙂 Thanks for listening! Again, I don’t think we could feel more blessed by God at this point in our lives. The idea of raising a child together is absolutely exciting and we already love this little peanut so much I can hardly stand it. We have such wonderful family and friends in our community- we just know this journey is going to be one of the grandest blessings we could imagine.

More on this later!

~M (for MOMMY!)

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Bun in the Oven

  1. So sweet!!! You guys will be wonderful parents! Love the little baby bump! Can’t wait to see you soon!! (by the way, I’ve always thought you looked like your mom, but I seriously had to do a double-take in the second picture) 🙂 Love you!

    Like

  2. You both will be awesome parents!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Excited Auntie K!! | dutch sisters create

  4. Jen

    As I study early childhood education, I am reminded every day of the importance of nurturing parents on a child’s life. And unfortunately we see far too many examples of the deterioration of the family unit and its negative effects on a young child’s development. I am so blessed to read about how much love you have for your little one, what a high priority you already place on taking the best care of him/her and how passionate you are about being good parents. Your excitement is exploding out of each of your words, thanks for sharing them with us! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

