“Anything Goes” Pasta

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

The other day, I had the day off of work and it was glorious! I was scheduled to work, but we didn’t have a provider for the clinic, so we had to close. I feel almost guilty about being happy we had to close… but I’ll take it when I can! I was supposed to work 4 days in a row that week/weekend, and was somewhat dreading that because that’s just a lot of 10 hour shifts in a row. A lot.

Anyways, I celebrated the day by… staying home and catching up on numerous household projects. I know, you can’t believe how exciting my life is. One thing led to another, and it was dinnertime and somehow I had not the faintest idea what to make! So I raided the pantry… and was pleasantly surprised by the turnout!

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

My new favorite thing to add to pasta dishes is diced green peppers- it makes a heavy dish taste much more fresh and not so… well, heavy. For this particular dish, I just chopped up an onion, a green pepper, some “Oktoberfest” edition Bratwursts (aka DELICIOUS edition) and salt&pepper. I added a jar of our favorite creamy pasta sauce- 4 Cheese Alfredo (Classico brand) and let all the flavors simmer together for about 10-15 minutes.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

I will admit, I’m a little bit of a brand snob only when it comes to certain grocery items. One of those items is pasta sauce… I stick to ‘Classico’ Brand because the ingredient list is so refreshingly made up of REAL food items! It’s not a bunch of chemicals to make it taste like real food. Also, sugar is typically in the first 3 ingredients of most pasta sauces, but in the Classico brand, it is one of the very last things! Perfect score in my book.

Anyways, mix the sauce with the prepared pasta, and you’ve got yourself a meal that took less than 20 minutes to prepare, and tastes fantastic. There’s really no strict recipe for this type of dish, because anything goes! I’ve used turkey kielbasa, chicken sausage, pancetta, sliced grilled chicken, or other things for the ‘meat’ portion, and a number of other veggies would taste great too! I’m partial to green pepper and onion because they are cheap and deliver the best taste without having to add tons of other spices.

This was so delicious. I have a hard time controlling myself when it comes to a good bowl of creamy pasta.

Enter= food coma.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

That’s all for now, guys. Note the stretchy pants- very useful for wonderfully indulgent nights like this!

~M

P.S. My little sister came over for dinner and brought us these!! We’re so spoiled. You can see I ate half of one poor cookie right away and saved the other half for after dinner 😉

;

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

