Classic Split Pea Soup

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, just a couple things I want to throw out there.

Pea Soup is not photogenic. Pretty sure it never has been and it probably never will be. I was trying all sorts of different angles to make it look prettier but in the end I just gave up and hoped that you guys would understand. I do have to say though that this is probably one of the best tasting ugly foods out there!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Secondly, you’ll need to get yourself a ham hock. I know…. it’s weird. I have been begging my mom for this recipe for ages, and when she finally gave it to me I saw the ‘ham hock’ in the ingredient list and it took me months to remember to buy one at the store. It’s an awkward looking package of meat & bone, but totally rocks in the soup.

So just grab those hocks and peas and let’s get goin!

Boiling the hocks & peas, step one.So just grab those peas and the ol’ hock and let’s get goin!

45 min to 1 hour later, add your veggies! Keep boilin’!

At roughly 2 hours of boil time, this is how thick it should look- notice how much it bubbled onto the sides of the pot- this is a very messy soup, so clean the pot ASAP!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

So, remember how I said a few weeks ago that I never used to make soup? Totally did a 180 on that one- soups are my new favorite thing because you can just dump all the ingredients in a pot and wait a few hours and bam! Your house smells amazing and you can rest easy knowing dinner is prepared and it didn’t take any special culinary technique or constant attention to have a delicious product. And please… please don’t forgo the ham hock. It adds a delicious and hearty flavor to the soup and takes it to the next level for sure. This would make a less than satisfactory vegetarian soup.

Aaaand it makes so much that you’ll be eating it for days. And not get sick of it. Promise.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Let’s make some green soup!!

~M

Classic Split Pea Soup

serves 10-12. (or 2 people for weeks)

Ingredients

1 (2 lb.) bag of split green peas, rinsed

1-2 ham hocks (all I could find was a package of 3 small hocks- so I used 3 and had lots of meat.)

1 medium size bag of baby carrots, chopped

1 head of celery, chopped

1 large onion, chopped

Lawry’s seasoning salt, to taste

4 quarts water

Directions

Fill a large stock pot with roughly 4 quarts of water. Rinse peas and add to water with ham hocks and bring to a boil.

Boil these two ingredients for 45 min to 1 hour, then add the chopped vegetables and Lawry’s seasoning salt. I probably used 2-3 tsp.

After about two hours, carefully remove the ham hocks and cut the meat off the bone. Place meat back in soup and discard the bone.

Boil soup over med-high heat for another 15-20 minutes or until at your desired level of thickness. I like my soup extra thick so I let it go for a while!

Time:

3 hours

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Stuffs.

Leave a Reply

