Nesting

So you know that term, ‘nesting’? It refers to the urge that pregnant women get to prepare for the new chapter about to start in their lives?

I think I’m experiencing that. Aaaand loving it. Because while I’m cleaning and organizing and freezing meals AND getting the nursery ready, baby Judah is in there kickin’ away- so I feel like it’s bonding time with my little one!

Not that he/she gets much input on what their room is going to look like, but that time will come soon enough.

Getting the nursery ready started out feeling a little overwhelming… it’s hard to choose colors and bedding when you aren’t finding out the gender! But as time went by, I spent more time just chilling in the nursery… envisioning spending lots of time in there cuddling with our baby… and things started to fall into place.

Here’s what we are thinking so far!

Elephant Brigade by Cottontale Designs

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

This is the bedding I’m registered for! I am totally in love. This is last year’s version of the bedding- the one I ordered has a different (and I think cuter) crib skirt.

Wall color

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

I stumbled across this on Pinterest (of course) and loved this neutral color for the nursery! This is Benjamin Moore’s ‘Revere Pewter’- hopefully once I get a swatch of it, it actually looks like this! We have lots of windows in the nursery, and I love the idea of a bright, yet cozy feel to the room.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

This is possibly one of my most FAVORITE things in the room. This bright red rag rug (say that 5 times fast) adds that fun pop to a mostly neutral-toned room and it just totally picks up the mood when you walk in! It is incredibly soft, and matches the red in my bedding perfectly. “How did you find this amazing rug??” you may wonder. Well, I love to tell the story! It was actually the STORE’S rug- and on display at one point with my bedding. I asked if they sold rugs like this in their store and they said no… so I was super disappointed. I tried to think of ways to make it myself, but I really just loved the color and shape and… ‘alreadymade-ness’ of THAT rug. 🙂 I asked them where they purchased it, and the owner said they had bought it years ago and ‘no one wanted that old thing’. Of course, I jumped right in and asked how much they wanted for it, thinking ehh… it’s still going to be pretty pricey (as all rugs usually are…) and I was right. He looked it up and said they paid $200 for it. And that they had tried to sell it in the store at a markdown for $180. Totally bummed me out. Then he said, “But we’ll sell it to you for $30!” and I almost fainted right then and there. Instead of fainting, I bought the rug. And danced a happy dance.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

This is another awesome story. Loved this elephant from the first time I saw it (again, by my bedding in the store) and finally decided to register for it if it wasn’t ridiculously priced. Long story short- this cute lil thang was regularly $70 but the sticker price said $10!! I immediately snatched it while doing my happy dance and walked back up to the counter to ask why it was marked down. Apparently all little kids loved to sit on this guy and ride it while their moms shopped, thus bending the legs at weird angles. Did I care? No way. In fact, if all those little kids loved it so much, I bet my little munchkin will love it too.

Moving on.

My dear sister K made this for the nursery too- scratch the rug and elephant, this might actually be my favorite.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

Yup. I think I’ll hang that right above the crib.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

And this is a little project I’ve been working on to put my own little touch in the room. When it’s done, I’ll show you the final product.

Now all I need is my little baby…. but until then, we’ll snuggle with Ghost.

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

;

~M

P.S. We are hosting a murder mystery dinner tonight for the first time ever- super excited and can’t wait to tell you how it goes!!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

