Top Chef Dinner- Herbed Beef Stew

Tonight I’d like to present to you a new dish- an herbed beef stew served over garlic mashed potatoes on a bed of fresh asparagus.

We’ve been watching Top Chef lately, sorry.

Lately, this wonderfully rainy, cold, and gloomy weather makes me want to camp out in the kitchen and make tummy warming meals. AND I really wanted to step outside my comfort zone and not use a recipe! SCARY! Usually I have something to go by, and I totally winged it tonight. I’m kind of proud of myself. This only happened with some serious pep-talking by M over the phone while camped out in the produce section, so thanks M πŸ™‚

fresh asparagus!! One of our favorites

One of my most-used ingredients…not so good for your breath, but so good for the heart! So…..that balances out, right?

This goes inΒ the stew. I know what you were thinking, you naughty πŸ˜‰

Not the cleanest presentation ever…but my taste buds were happy.

YumMAY

See how I tried to stack everything like they do on TC?

This will definitely be happening again- the meat was tender and flavorful, the broth (probably my favorite part) was infused with all the herbs and garlic I used, and the mashed potatoes were creamy and garlic-y and yummy. And asparagus is always a great side for any dish in our family.

I really hope this recipe works for you guys, it was a big hit with my meat and potatoes hubby πŸ™‚ and a great tummy warmer in this cool weather.

~K

Herbed Beef Stew over Garlic Mashed Potatoes

(Stew) Ingredients:

1 1/2 lbs stew beef

3 carrots, chopped

1 medium onion, diced

3 TBSP Garlic, minced

2 TBSP Olive Oil

1 TBSP butter

1 TBSP Worcestershire Sauce (I used the ‘thick’ style, but regular is fine)

1 cup water

1 cup chicken broth (I used chicken, cuz it’s what I had, but beef would work great too!)

6 sprigs of fresh thyme

3 bay leaves

salt and pepper (to taste)

wine (Probably ended up using about a cup and a half….)

Instructions:

Start by browning the stew meat in the pot you will be making the stew in, using the butter and olive oil. Do not cook it all the way through! Just brown on top and bottom and set aside. Do not clean the pot. Once you’re done browning the beef, set it aside. Toss the onions and garlic in the pot and saute until the onions are almost cooked all the way. Add water, worcestershire sauce, wine, and chicken broth. bring to a boil. Once it’s at a rolling boil, add the salt and pepper, thyme, bay leaves, carrots and beef. Reduce heat to low, cover, and let simmer for 30 minutes. (I didn’t let it go for too long, mainly because I started out with very little liquid in the stew, and I wanted it to be less soupy, but still have some broth. The longer it simmers, the more liquid evaporates.)

Garlic Mashed Potatoes

4 Russet Potatoes, peeled and diced into 1/2 inch cubes.

3 cloves fresh garlic, minced

1/4 cup milk

3 TBSP butter

Instructions: (P.S.) this part can be done while the stew simmers.)

Dice potatoes and cook til done all the way through. Drain, return to pot. Add the minced garlic, milk and butter. Mash thoroughly, then add to food processor. Blend til smooth, then return to pan on low heat. You really want to make sure the garlic is minced well to begin with, then thoroughly blended in the food processor otherwise you get chunks of garlic when you’re trying to enjoy an otherwise perfectly balanced dish πŸ™‚

Serve over Roasted Asparagus (simply broil asparagus with olive oil, salt and pepper for ten minutes)

Serves 4


Leave a comment

Filed under Food Stuffs.

Leave a Reply

