Maple Oat Scones

I have a little obsesh. It’s called… the Maple Oat Scone from Starbucks. And it doesn’t help that I have a sister that works at Starbucks… Thank goodness (but sadly…) she works at the store a couple hours away so I don’t take advantage of her discount on those scones all the time! A while back, K posted a recipe for the cranberry bliss bars and that started this whole Starbucks recipe frenzy thing. We’re about done. Promise.

Actually, now that we have a Keurig, we rarely if ever go to Starbucks anymore… which means I never get my scone.

I had to fix that. It just wouldn’t do.

And K had the solution! A while back she got a cookbook that had a bunch of the secret recipes from popular restaurant chains in America- and my eyes went directly to this scone recipe! It might be one of the best feelings in the world that these scones are now available in my own kitchen, at will. Self control, please do your thang. These scones are something I’d treat myself to on a special occasion- having them less often makes you appreciate them THAT much more! They are perfect with a latte in the morning- the maple flavor is one of my all time favorites. The texture is just completely melt-in-your-mouth indulgent. Despite the HUGE size of the pastry, somehow by the last bite you’re wondering where the whole scone went all of the sudden.

I used a few substitutions because I just couldn’t wait to make a grocery run for a few measly ingredients. Although, I do think they’d taste even better if you use what the real recipe calls for! I didn’t have heavy cream so I used evaporated milk- which is way nice in the calorie arena, but does change the consistency and crumbley-ness of the scone. All in all, I was so happy with the closeness of the flavor and texture of my homemade scone versus the Starbucks-made scone.

I sprinkled a little raw turbinado sugar on the tops for some added texture!

And now you can enjoy it too!

Merry Christmas season! Get ready for all the Christmas cookie recipes coming your way….

~M

Starbucks Maple Oat Scone

makes 6- 12 scones, depending on how you cut them

adapted from the Top Secret Recipes Unlocked cookbook

Scone Ingredients

2 1/2 cups all purpose flour

1/2 cup rolled oats, not instant

1 Tbsp baking powder

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/2 tsp salt

4 Tbsp cold butter

1/3 cup chopped walnuts (I omitted these)

1 large egg

2/3 cup dark brown sugar

1/4 cup half and half

2 tsp imitation maple flavoring

Maple Icing

1 cup powdered sugar

4 tsp whole milk

1/2 tsp imitation maple flavoring

Directions

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees.

To make the scones, combine the flour, oats, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt in a large bowl. Use a pastry knife or a fork to cut the cold butter into the dry mixture. Break the butter down until there are no pieces larger than a pea. Stir in the chopped walnuts.

Use an electric mixer to combine the egg, brown sugar, half-and-half, and maple flavoring in a medium bowl.

Combine the wet ingredients with dry and blend with electric mixer until firm, then use your hands to mix the dough until you can form in into a ball. Pat the dough out on a lightly floured surface until it is about 1 1/4 inches thick. Shape the dough into a rectangle, and then use a pizza wheel or large knife to cut the dough into 6 large triangles (or number of your choosing). Arrange the dough triangles on a baking sheet and bake for 25-30 minutes, or just until the scones begin to turn light brown on the edges.

As the scones cool, combine the icing ingredients in a medium bowl with an electric mixer on low speed ( I used a bowl and whisk and did it myself). When the scones have cooled, spread the icing on top of each one with a frosting knife or spatula.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

