Chewy Gingersnap Cookies

IMG_4666

The past 5 days have been craaazy. Crazy good, mostly! But just ‘crazy’ would work just as well. Starting last Friday, I worked all weekend, and in between that 1.) attended a baby shower for a friend who is due 3 weeks before me (!!!) it was a beautiful shower and she is going to be an amazing mom. 2) hosted some friends we haven’t seen in FOREVER from out of town- we had a blast and lots of pizza and catch-up time. 3) Sunday I had to work 3 1/2 hours past our regular closing hours because there was a staff emergency- which I was happy to cover for, but man. Lack of sleep + getting off work at 9:30 p.m. is killer. Then 4) Joey had hernia repair surgery at 9 am and I had an ultrasound at the same time, at different locations yesterday. Thankfully it all worked out because our family is awesome and helped us both make it to our appointments. And now we are home, surgery and ultrasound went well, and we are tired. Joey more so than I, understandably. Apparently, he did not like the anesthesia and tried to pop a swing at the doctor, so they had to put him all the way under general anesthesia and intubate him. That’s my tough guy.

Phew, catch all that??

IMG_4660

Last night we both slept on the couch because poor Joey is still in a lot of pain, and the bed is too flat to be comfortable. I’ve decided that while I love being a nurse, and am grateful that I feel knowledgeable enough in post-surgery care to take care of my man skillfully, nursing is never as fun when it involves your own family. Tooo personal. His pain is my pain, know what I mean?

IMG_4665

So while I preoccupy myself with caring for my honey, (luckily I have a few days off to stay at home!) I decided that this house needed to smell like Gingersnaps. Gingersnaps smell AWESOME, and we needed some ‘awesome’ to be wafting through our house. I usually have all the window shades open during the day so the house is bright and airy, but when you are trying to promote rest and recovery, the first thing to go is bright light and noise. So, COOKIES WE SHALL HAVE!!

IMG_4662

And…. this is one of those recipes I promised to you guys a while back that never got addressed. Yay for my pregnancy brain remembering to finally post it! Ok, so here’s what’s up. There are no chocolate chips in this recipe. Nor are there any other type of creamy, sugary candies that typically make cookies so wonderful. Somehow, these cookies are wonderful just on their own. They are classified as ‘spice cookies’, which typically is the easy cookie to avoid on the ‘after church’ goody trays, if you know what I mean. Please, for the love of the gingersnap smell… try these.

IMG_4667

By the way, each cookie is only 72 calories! Basically a health food.

IMG_4661

Have a GRAND week!!

~M

Chewy Gingersnap Cookies

adapted from Southern Living Cookbook

prep: 30 min, makes 48 cookies

Ingredients

3/4 cup shortening

1 cup packed brown sugar

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp ground ginger

1 tsp ground cinnamon

1/4 tsp ground cloves

1/4 molasses

1 egg

2 1/4 cup All purpose flour

1/4 cup sugar, for rolling cookies in

Directions

In a large mixing bowl, beat shortening with an electric mixer for 30 seconds on med-high speed. Add brown sugar, baking soda, ginger, cinnamon, and cloves. Beat until combined. Beat in molasses & egg. Beat in as much flour as you can with the mixer, then stir in any remaining flour.

Shape dough into one-inch balls. Roll balls in the granulated sugar to coat. Place balls 2 inches apart on an ungreased cookie sheet.

Bake in a 375 degree oven for 8-10 minutes or until edges are set and tops crackled. Cool cookies for 1 minute on the cookie sheet, then transfer to a wire rack.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Chewy Gingersnap Cookies

  1. “basically a health food” – I love your logic. I cannot wait to get my hands on some of these cookies!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blood Orange and Rosemary Cake | dutch sisters create

Leave a Reply

