Peanut Butter Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

IMG_5180

I have never been a real fan of anything banana flavored. I like tangy, sweet, and tart! Not creamy, banana-y, and well, just banana-y I guess! Once I got into green smoothies though, frozen bananas were a key ingredient and I started to not mind the flavor as much.

Then I started buying bananas but didn’t go through them fast enough so I had to freeze them. And what to do with 12 frozen bananas ? Well, I don’t know, but I know what I can do with 2!

IMG_5181

This snacky banana bread is absolutely divine. The banana flavor totally jives with the PB and chocolate riddled throughout the loaf! Sadly, I only got pictures of the very last piece… Gabby and I geared up for the first time since she was born and made this on Wednesday for my grandparents who are in town! She is going to be quite the little baker, I think. Even though she slept through the whole process, I can tell she liked it. I can just tell. 🙂

Banaaaaaana Breeeead!!

Banaaaaaana Breeeead!!

I just love her.

~M

Peanut Butter CHocolate CHip Banana Bread

makes one loaf

Ingredients

2 cups AP flour

1 1/2 tsp baking powder

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/2 tsp salt

2 medium ripe mashed bananas

1/2 cup creamy Peanut butter

3 TBSP butter, softened, divided use

1/2 cup granulated sugar

1/2 cup firmly packed brown sugar

2 large eggs

1 1/2 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup milk

3/4 cup semisweet, dark, or milk chocolate chips (I used more, duh.)

1 1/2 tsp Turbinado sugar for sprinkling

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Coat a 9 inch loaf pan with cooking spray or butter.

IN a medium sized mixing bowl, using a mixer on medium speed, beat together banana, peanut butter, 2 TBSP butter, and both sugars until creamy, about 2 minutes; beat in eggs and vanilla extract until combined. Reduce mixer speed to low and beat in milk and flour mixture until just combined; stir in chocolate chips.

Pour batter into prepared pan; bake for 50 minutes. Remove pan from oven, melt additional TBSP butter, brush evenly over the top, and top with Turbinado sugar. Continue to bake for an additional 5 minutes or until golden brown.

Cool for 20 minutes before running a knife around the edges, removing, and transferring to a wire rack to cool an additional 30 minutes before slicing.

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Dessert, Family, Food Stuffs.

Leave a Reply

