Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

Between having a new niece, a new second cousin (!! It’s baby season, ya’ll!!), friends, school, work, and housework, I am getting to be one cranky lady by about Wednesday afternoon. I simply cannot stretch myself thinly enough to do everything I want to do, and it can drive me batty. I’m sure you understand. We all do this in some way- say yes to everything, because ‘everything’ is stuff weΒ want to do, and end up going crazy because there’s not enough hours in the day.

It’s all about- I’m gonna be cliche- taking time to stop and smell the roses. Or, in my case, wiggling my toes in freshly mown grass.

**pedicure courtesy of M, who treated me to a 'me' day, cuz she's psychic or something

**pedicure courtesy of M, who treated me to a ‘me’ day, cuz she’s psychic or something

Also, I’ve been listening to K-Love on the radio lately and trying to make it more of a habit- and I love what it’s doing for my attitude. I’m sure some of you understand- the ‘on-the-go’ nature of Β life can suck you dry, but having a radio station dedicated to awesome worship music and talk on how to live a God-centered life in a self-centered world has made a huge difference for me….I highly suggest turning your radio channel if you haven’t already.

And I started reading Blue Like Jazz again. If none of you have read it- make the time to do it. It’s by Donald Miller, and it is a phenomenal book on how to be a Christian today…

IMG_1400

It’s so crazy how much more calm I feel when I take more (nonexistent) time out of my day to focus on what’s important (God and family), time suddenly seems to slow just a bit, life seems a little brighter, and graduation doesn’t seem quite so far away.

Coffee dates with my momma also help.

πŸ™‚

~K

 

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Books, Coffee, Family, God

9 responses to “Blue Like Jazz by Donald Miller

  1. That’s a fantastic book! I loaned my copy to someone and never got it back.

    Like

  2. Jason Walker

    I certainly agree with you about the book. I just read it for the first time this past week and I’m still reeling a bit from it. In fact, it moved me so much that I’m writing one blog post about a lesson I learned from each of its 20 chapters. My readers may kill me before it’s over! LOL Great post!

    Like

  3. Pingback: Lemon Butter Shrimp with Teriyaki Quinoa Cabbage Stir-fry | dutch sisters create

Leave a Reply

