Brown Sugar Chocolate & Butterscotch Chip Cookies

IMG_5290

Well, I was already back at my pre-pregnancy weight. Until I made these. Dangit.

IMG_5288

It is currently 3:18 am and I’m wishing I had another one of these cookies to munch on right now. Problem is, I’ve already had 5 today (not kidding) and I’m slightly scared of the dark and not willing to risk a hike all the way to the kitchen to get another one.

IMG_5289

As I’m writing this, I’m rocking my darlin’ little daughter in her little hammock bed- lately her most ‘awake’ time is in the early afternoon and then again at around 2 a.m.- which means I’ve become a big fan of midnight snacks. Mostly I rely on apples and granola bars, but sometimes ya just need a cookie. Or five… don’t judge.

IMG_5291

Now that I think of it… I had er, 3 of the 5 cookies today technically at 1 a.m. and the other 2 were at lunch yesterday – so I should probably have 2 more now because I already typed that I had 5 today so I may as well make that true. Just let it happen.

Cookie party in the nursery, ya’ll.

~M

p.s. Tomorrow I have a haircut at 2- my mom is coming over to do some nursing classes with me, and she’s going to watch Gabs for an hour while I go to my appointment. I have been going back and forth with whether or not to cancel my appt all day- it will be my first time leaving Gabs for longer than 20 minutes! I hope this haircut is worth it!

Brown Sugar Chocolate& Butterscotch Chip Cookies

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups plus 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 12 Tbsp (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, melted & cooled until warm
  • 1 c brown sugar, packed
  • 1/2 c granulated sugar
  • 1 large egg plus 1 yolk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup semisweet chocolate chips
  • 3/4 cup butterscotch chips

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 325°F. Line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper; set aside.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda and salt; set aside.
  3. In the bowl of a stand mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat butter and sugars until thoroughly combined. Beat in egg, yolk and vanilla until combined. Add dry ingredients and beat at low speed just until combined. Stir in chips.
  4. Roll a scant 1/4 cup dough into ball. Holding dough ball in fingertips of both hands, pull into 2 equal halves. Rotate halves 90 degrees and, with jagged surfaces facing up, join halves back together into one ball so that the top surface is jagged. Place onto prepared cookie sheet, spacing 2 1/2 inches apart.
  5. Bake until cookies are light golden brown, outer edges start to harden, and  centers are still soft and puffy, about 15 to 18 minutes, rotating the baking sheets front to back and top to bottom halfway through the baking time. Cool the cookies on the baking sheets. Remove cookies using a wide metal spatula. Store in an airtight container at room temperature
Leave a comment

Filed under Cookies/Bars, Dessert, Food Stuffs.

Leave a Reply

