Lemon Butter Shrimp with Teriyaki Quinoa Cabbage Stir-fry

Here’s the new ‘do! It’s startlingly short and taken me some time to get used to, but I’m loving the ease of having less hair!

IMG_0279

The past few weeks have been a blur of feedings, laundry, and trying to read this book Katie suggested. Quite honestly, I’m pretty thrilled about it! I love being a momma.

The only thing I’ve been missing a lot is exercise. I have had a lot of time to plan some pretty intense workouts, so I can’t WAIT to try some of them out! I still have about 2.5 weeks before I can start exercising vigorously again, but until then, these jogging stroller walks should hold me over.

IMG_5357

After our walk (dang it was WINDY!) I had some leftovers from our dinner the other night to hold me over until dinnertime- one of my new favorite go-to recipes. Stir fry’s have been a hit for us lately, because they are quick, flavorful and filling- and this one tops em all!

IMG_0276

I’ve been dying to try quinoa for the past few months, so I ventured out and bought a box and then was too nervous to try to cook it for the longest time. Remember, fear of weird ingredients? The box sat in my pantry forever until I finally decided to try it a couple days ago. I (for some reason) made the whole box and therefore have quinoa coming out of my ears, but I don’t mind because I’ve been eating it non-stop ever since!  SO good!

IMG_0277

I’ve made a version of this stir fry before, but this time added spicy shrimp and a couple other things to bulk it up for a hearty meal fit for a hard-working man. Gotta keep Gabby’s daddy well fed!

Hope you guys try it, I know it seems like a funky combination of things to eat. It’s probably one of the healthiest meals you could make though, and Joey was pleasantly surprised with how good it tasted for how healthy it was.

IMG_0278

Enjoy!

~M

P.S. one of the fun things about this blog is that K and I sometimes don’t tell each other what we are going to post about- here’s proof! Two similar recipes back-to-back 🙂 They are both delicious, I’m sure- and just goes to show that stir fry’s are awesome because you can just throw whatever veggies you have on hand in, toss with a little sauce, and you’ve got a meal. Great minds think alike, right?

Spicy Lemon Butter Shrimp with Teriyaki Quinoa Cabbage Stir-fry

ingredients

pre-cooked shrimp, peeled & deveined

one head of green cabbage

1/2 cup uncooked quinoa

1 1/2 cup low sodium chicken broth

1 can black beans

2-3 eggs

juice of one lemon

teriyaki sauce

salt & pepper

cayenne, red pepper flakes

butter

directions

Cook 1/2 cup quinoa according to package directions. Instead of boiling in water, use chicken broth for added flavor. Once cooked, set aside.

Rinse shrimp, season with cayenne, red pepper and S &P- cook in 1 TBSP butter until done, set aside. Squeeze juice of one lemon over cooked shrimp.

Rinse the head of cabbage and chop into thick shreds. Saute in olive oil until tender. Drain can of beans and rinse- add to the sauteed cabbage. Crack eggs directly into pan with the beans and cabbage- make room for the raw eggs so they cook quickly. Scramble the eggs and incorporate evenly into the cabbage mixture. Season generously with S&P.

Add quinoa to stir-fry, as well as shrimp. Drizzle mixture with teriyaki sauce (just a little!) and enjoy immediately!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Lemon Butter Shrimp with Teriyaki Quinoa Cabbage Stir-fry

  1. Pingback: Quinoa Patties | dutch sisters create

Leave a Reply

