Roasted Pepper and Garlic Hummus

Spring Break is herrrrrrre!! And I have been looking forward to it since about the 4th week of January. No concrete plans so far…. except younger sister Lindsey’s 18th birthday dinner tomorrow!! I can’t believe she’s 18 already. I’m just not sure I believe it yet. An 18 year old sister and a month old niece!!! Holy ridiculous batman.

I spent most of the morning on my first day of vacation in an interview (in front of a panel of 5 people! Never done that before- nerve racking, let me tell you) for an internship for next year, so by the time that was over I was definitely ready for some relaxing time in the kitchen instead of my current bad habit of fast food. YUCK!! I hate how easy that habit is for me to fall back into. Since I’ve been trying to eat more veggies, I like having a good dip to go with them, and I was so surprised at how easy it is to make hummus!!

IMG_1488

And it looks quite pretty 🙂

While I was making this, I also made Tuna & Salmon Salad Sandwiches and a Spicy Chicken Dip that you’ll have to wait for 🙂

See what happens when I decide to use my spring break for fun stuff? 🙂 I made a conscious decision to take a step back from school since I’m caught up on homework and spend some time reading and cooking and crafting.

It’s doing wonders for my stress levels! And eating habits :/

~K

P.S. Anyone else get the giggles over M’s story yesterday? I did. I really shouldn’t laugh too hard, cuz someday I know I’ll find myself in a similar situation.

Roasted Pepper and Garlic Hummus

**Adapted from What Katie Ate’s Recipe for white bean, chickpea and roasted garlic dip.**

Ingredients:

5 Large garlic gloves, unpeeled

1/3 cup EVOO

1 can 14 oz chickpeas (garbanzo beans) rinsed and drained

1 can 14 oz cannellini beans (white beans) rinsed and drained

juice of 1 1/2 lemons

pinch crushed red pepper flakes, plus extra to serve

S & P to taste

1 TBSP grated Parmesan cheese

1/2 of one roasted red pepper- (I used some from a jar, you don’t have to go crazy and fire roast your own 🙂 )

Preheat the oven to 400. Place the garlic on a baking sheet and roast for about 30 minutes until soft. Remove and allow to cool, then squeeze out the soft flesh and discard the papery skin.

Place the garlic in a blender with the chickpeas, cannellini beans, lemon juice, red pepper flakes, olive oil, parmesan cheese and red peppers. Blend it all together to combine, then season to taste with S & P (I used quite a bit). The texture should be thick and slightly grainy. If you like it smoother, add small amounts of EVOO until it reaches the texture you prefer.

Let it chill in the fridge for about 30 minutes before serving, then garnish with more sliced roasted red pepper and S & P.

Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Family, Food Stuffs., Vacation, Vegetables

Leave a Reply

