Quinoa Patties

Things I can eat one-handed have become a prerequisite for me now when looking at different recipes to try out. One hand is usually occupado with Gabs, so eating lunch is sometimes more of an Olympic event than anything else.

IMG_0288

When I was reading one of my favorite blogs a while back, I saw this recipe and subconsciously bookmarked it- or I must have, because it popped into my mind yesterday when I was staring at the huge vat of leftover quinoa that I still had in my fridge.

Must. Have. Quinoa. Nuggets!!

IMG_0292

 

I had pretty much everything for these on hand, and so it took all of 25 minutes from start to finish. I made a whole big batch of them, ate a few, then popped the rest in a Ziploc to enjoy the rest of the week. We had a few guys over for burgers the other day, and when they all wanted seconds but had no beef patties left, they resorted to trying these on buns. These puppies even got the thumbs-up from the guys!

IMG_0294

Hey K- maybe this will quell the fast food cravings? Since I helped with your cravings, maybe you can come up with a recipe to silence the chocolate monster inside me. You owe me one.

 

 
~ M
IMG_5353

 

Quinoa Patties (or nuggets)

recipe from Yes, I Want Cake

  • 1 C uncooked quinoa
  • 2 C vegetable broth
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/3 C chives, chopped
  • 1/2 large onion, chopped
  • 1/3 C parmesan cheese
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 1 C almond meal
  • 1 T olive oil

Rinse your quinoa off (I use a really fine fryer strainer) because I’ve heard you are supposed to do that. Then put it in a small saucepan and cover it with the vegetable broth. Bring to a boil, partially cover, and turn the heat down. Let it simmer for about 15 minutes, or until liquid is all absorbed. Set aside to cool.

Once cooled, mix all ingredients (except the olive oil) in a large bowl. Form patties using 1/4 C measurer.

Heat a skillet or griddle over medium-high heat and add the olive oil. Place the patties down in the oil, and let them cook for about 4-5 minutes on each side, or until they are browned, and they hold together when you stick a spatula under there.

Let them cool slightly on a baking rack before eating (helps them solidify a bit). Enjoy!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

