Alice Springs Chicken

So… yesterday was exciting for two reasons. First, Gabby is 6 WEEKS old! Where has time gone?? When did my newborn get wrist rolls?? (which, by the way, I love. We have been working on getting rolls for quite some time.)

20130410-031202.jpg

Second reason: I was cleared to exercise by my doctor!! Yes yes yes yes!!!

The first thing I did after my doctor’s appointment was pick up Gabby from my mom’s house and head out for a celebratory run. I had loaded up the stroller before leaving for my appointment because I had planned on running in Ripon the first time on the nice paved roads- we’ll save the rugged country terrain for when I’m a little better at navigating the stroller whilst running (It’s tougher to run with a stroller than I thought! Felt the burn in my arms for sure).

20130410-031145.jpg

My mom ran with her dog while I ran with the stroller- and those of you who live in the area know that the wind was CRAZY yesterday! That… was a killer. I ran 1.5 miles and thought my lungs were going to burst 5 minutes in. This might be somewhat of a tough journey to get back into shape! Oh well, felt AWESOME. I’ll be back for more today.

The other night, Joey and I were trying to think of what to make for dinner- he started talking in different accents while we pondered what sounded appetizing and at one point he started talking in an Australian accent. My train of thought went as such: Joey talking Australian… I’m hungry…. Australian… Outback?.. mm love that place…Hm I remember my sister in law always liking that place too… she always ordered the Alice Springs Chicken… I should really get that next time we go there…or make it TONIGHT!…. and dinner was born.

20130410-031248.jpg

We didn’t bother to look up a recipe, since what we had in the fridge was minimal. It might not be fair to call this Outback’s Alice Springs Chicken, but dang-o, it was delish and really easy, so by golly- I’m telling ya about it.

20130410-031222.jpg

I think the secret to the delicious-ness is using thighs instead of chicken breasts. I’ve always bought chicken breasts because they are lower in fat and versatile as far as cooking goes- but I finally decided to buy thighs after I had some amazing chicken at my Aunt Joni’s house for Easter. She told me that she used thighs and I became a believer. I’m a thigh-believer, ya’ll.

20130410-031236.jpg

Make this recipe tonight, folks! It’s totally yummy and I bet even the pickiest of eaters will devour it!

~M

Simplified Alice Springs Chicken

serves 2

Ingredients

2-3 chicken thighs

1 TBSP olive oil

Salt & Pepper

6-10 slices good quality sharp cheddar cheese

6 slices thick-cut bacon

Directions:

Season chicken thighs liberally with salt and pepper on both sides- do not underseason! Set aside.

Cook the bacon on the stove-top until crisp. Drain on paper towels and set aside.

Pan-fry the thighs in the reserved bacon drippings and add a touch of olive oil. Cook until done, about 4 minutes on each side. Once the thighs are almost completely cooked through, set 2 slices of bacon on top of each thigh, followed by 2-3 slices of cheddar cheese on top of the bacon. Cover with lid for about 30-45 seconds until cheese is melted and chicken is cooked through.

Serve immediately.

** I think Outback’s version has mushrooms if I remember correctly… we didn’t have any mushrooms so feel free to add those to make it more like the original recip

 

 

4 Comments

Filed under Food Stuffs.

4 responses to “Alice Springs Chicken

  1. Kerrisan Meyer

    Yum yum yum! I love this idea. I especially like the Brussels Sprouts you cooked along with it.
    I like to call them “designer cabbages” for those who are scared of the name.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Jasper Grows Up | dutch sisters create

  3. Kerrisan Meyer

    I always add bacon. Bacon is fantastic with designer cabbages. I often sautée them, however, I have started roasting more leafy veggies in the oven. It keeps the texture nice while giving Jason the crisp edges he loves.

    Like

Leave a Reply

