Bleu Cheese Crusted Steak

I do feel like I have to prove to everyone my love for steak now, after that bit about tofu.

IMG_5602

When I came home from college during the summers, I worked for one of the nicest restaurants in downtown Modesto- ‘Dewz’. My job was to be the ‘server assistant’ meaning I was trusted with the task of making sure that the guests’ water glasses were never more than half-empty, doing the bread and water presentations (yes, presentations), and if lucky, I got to help bring out plates and clear them. I’m telling you, this place is high-class if a college-educated girl isn’t even allowed to clear the plates without supervision.

IMG_5607 Each month at Dewz, the servers are required to come to the restaurant in the morning to taste the new dishes and be tested on the ingredients and description of each dish. That’s why they are so knowledgeable, and what makes the restaurant so classy. The first time I heard one of the servers describe a dish to a customer, I almost started drooling right there.

In fact… I remember what he was describing. It was a monologue that will live in my mind forever, until the day I get to taste the dish. (Server assistants did NOT get to do monthly tastings) He was describing the ‘Bleu Cheese Encrusted Steak’ and I kid you not, I have been dying to taste it to this day.

IMG_5600

“Well, why hasn’t Joey taken you there??” you may wonder. It’s not his fault. He has offered to take me there countless times- but I always want to go somewhere else. See, we went there for dessert one time and it was amazing, BUT it wasn’t the ultimate fine-dining experience I dreamed about because I knew everything about the restaurant. Part of the magic of a fabulous dining experience is that you are clueless to the ‘behind the scenes’ action. Knowing the in’s and out’s of the restaurant just dulls the shine a bit.

But back to the steak.

IMG_5601

I remember watching those cheese crusted steaks going out to the dining room and thinking, SOMEDAY I am going to order that. I even remember clearing the plates and dabbling with the idea of inhaling someone’s leftovers. (Ew, that moment of insanity passed, Hep C no thank you) but people, I’m telling you it smelled THAT good.

So a few nights ago, I decided to try to make it myself. Joey is one of the best steak guys out there, and I figured he could help me recreate the magic.

IMG_5603

He totally did. Dewz, I still want to try your steak, but my husband does a pretty darn good job of spoiling me with fine dining right here at home.

Tofu, get outtttta heeere.

~M

Bleu Cheese Crusted Steak

serves 2

adapted from Food Network

Ingredients
1/2 cup bleu cheese crumbles

2 tsp fine herbs

1/2 cup Panko bread crumbs

2 tsp olive oil, plus 1 TBSP

salt & pepper for seasoning

2 steaks (filet mignon or ribeye is great!)

Directions
Preheat oven to 400 degrees F. Line a baking sheet with foil; set aside.

In a small mixing bowl, combine bleu cheese, bread crumbs, herbs, and 1/2 teaspoon of olive oil; set aside.

Add 1 tablespoon olive oil to a large saute pan and heat over medium-high heat. Season steaks with salt and pepper and to add pan, but do not crowd. Sear 1 to 2 minutes per side just to brown. Remove pan from heat and transfer steaks onto prepared baking sheet.

Top each steak with 1/4 of blue cheese mixture. Finish cooking steaks in preheated oven for 4 minutes for medium-rare, 6 minutes for medium, and 8 minutes for well done.

Enjoy with a glass of red wine, fresh green beans, and some crusty, buttery bread!

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Stuffs.

Leave a Reply

