The day I went back to work

…. was all in all, a surprisingly good day.

IMG_5935

I packed everything up the night before so leaving would be a breeze (maybe not the right word) in the morning to drop Gabs off at my mom’s. I woke at 5:45 to get ready and feed my lil lady, and we were at my mom’s by 7- I had told her that I’d shoot for 6:45, just to give myself a little wiggle room and good thing I did!

I was a little nervous about getting back into the swing of things at work, so with those nerves swirling around in my head, I kissed Gabs good-bye and gave her a choked-up monologue about how much I love her and that I would be back before she knew it. She was asleep, but I know she already missed me. Just let me believe that, okay??

IMG_5938

A couple tears later I was on my way to work!

Then I had to turn around again because I left my phone in the diaper bag. At my mom’s house. I’ll admit I was kind of glad I had a good reason to go back and give Gabs one more goodbye kiss!

My next stop, since no one was at the clinic yet, was to go pick up some donuts for my coworkers, who I had missed the past few months. I ordered a dozen assorted and had a nice little chat with the donut man- he asked why just a little lady needed so many donuts! I explained to him that it was my first day back at work and leaving my baby and that I wanted to surprise my fellow employees with some sweets. He was so kind and encouraging, and said, “You sad momma! You will have hard day, you need a donut!” Definitely brought a smile to my face.

Until I realized that they didn’t take debit cards, only cash. Aaaand I had no cash. I apologized profusely and said I would go find an ATM and come back- but he insisted that I just take the donuts! He said, “You take the donuts, pay me tomorrow!” I had NEVER been to this little shop before, but this man trusted me to take everything and come back the next day with the $8 it cost?! What?! I almost cried right there. I tried to say no, that I would find an ATM, but he said no- that I needed to bring them to work and have a good day. Thank you, Lord for a little ray of sunshine on an emotional day.

That was the first awesome thing about my day back. 

IMG_5940

Worked out in my favor to choose to come back on National Nurses Week! I didn’t end up having one, but they were pretty to look at!

My second “God story” about my first day back requires a little background. (If you’re still reading this mammoth of a post, bless you. I admire your stamina) Last year, I had a special case I was working on very hard at work. It was regarding a patient who was in liver failure and had a special condition known as Hemachromatosis. I can’t tell you too much about the case because of patient confidentiality, but basically- this case was my baby. I talked to this man a few times a week and even worked with a couple students from our Christian high school to donate some of the credits from a blood drive to his cause. (He needed to have blood taken out each week and that gets expensive!! Each student was able to give him a ‘credit’ (free blood draw) when they donated.) When he found out that we had done that, he called in tears and said how God’s blessings were raining down on him, even though his body was in so much pain. I learned SO much about that blood disorder and spent many, many hours working with insurances to help this man. But I had never seen him face to face- I just talked to him on the phone.

My doctor came into my office yesterday- and said, “Monica, you’re gonna love this. You’re gonna want to see these people.” I thought to myself- which patients do I know well enough that I would want to just go see them in a room randomly?? I was caught off-guard. Because there in the room, were an older man and his wife.

You guessed it.

“Are you Monica?” It was my special case! It was that man! We spent the next half hour talking about his life and how much has happened since we got things rolling, and his health has improved ten-fold. He thanked me for taking the time that I did to make things possible for him. God, Thank you again. It was the encouragement I needed to make it through this day! I don’t tell this story to ‘toot my own horn’– but to say that God knew I needed something a little extra-special on this day away from Gabs.

IMG_5943

Anyways, pretty cool huh? I love my job. I also love that I will only have to work a few times a month. Being a nurse is an amazing career, and being a mommy is an amazing purpose. I’m thankful for my hard-working husband who wants me to be able to spend as much time as possible with our daughter. Not everyone can do that, and it’s not something I take for granted.

She is not as chubby as this makes her look but I LOOOVE her chins! You'll forgive me someday baby girl!

She is not as chubby as this makes her look but I LOOOVE her chins! You’ll forgive me someday baby girl!

I mean, look at this girl. She’s hilarious. She’s like my teensy little BFF.

IMG_5934

She had a great time at my moms, and got to meet Gibbs, my mom’s giant chocolate lab.

At one point, I heard a 6 month old cry at work and it sounded JUST like Gabs- I definitely lost it and had a weepy 3 minutes in the employee bathroom, but all in all, I really enjoyed my day back. I also really enjoy the fact that I don’t have to go back for a whole week!! Oh, it’s gonna be concentrated with cuddles and kisses, let me tell you.

IMG_5925

Not to mention, Joey made me dinner last night. I could get used to that!

After my run this morning, I went to pay the donut man, and gave him a pretty big tip. We had a nice conversation and I told him how much it blessed me that he let me take the donuts yesterday. He told me that he somehow knew I’d come back.

Some people are just good people, and I liked this donut man. I shall be back, donut man.

Let’s pay it forward today, people. Buy someone’s drink for them at Starbucks. Let someone ahead of you in line. Mow your neighbor’s lawn. It will probably be just what someone needed. Be kind & bless someone today!

~M

3 Comments

Filed under Baby, Family, Work

3 responses to “The day I went back to work

  1. Jen

    I’m blessed reading your post, Monica! Smiling that your first day back to work was so full of reminders that God has your family in his hands! 🙂

    Like

  2. Jason Walker

    Sounds like a good day all-in-all … and I want one of those doughnuts!

    Like

Leave a Reply

