On dating your husband

Gabs and I are total early birds. My favorite is when we have already finished our morning chores and exercise before 8- leaves the whole rest of the day for more fun things and playtime! And minor league gardening.

IMG_0461

If you remember from last year’s attempt at gardening, I bit off a little more than I could chew (no pun intended). This year I swore I wouldn’t garden anymore, and ripped out all of last year’s plants. However, I checked a couple weeks ago and I must not have pulled all the roots out because a couple stubborn plants grew back- I decided to let them live because if they survived even when I TRIED to kill them, they deserve another chance, and apparently they don’t need much attention. So what we have back there now is some zucchini, strawberries, and some herbs & potatoes that my friend gave me.

IMG_0466

I spray-painted some cheap pots with my leftover chalkboard paint and planted some basil, flat-leaf parsley, and cilantro last week so that I could have fresh herbs all summer- things taste magical and a million times better with fresh herbs. In my opinion, the three herbs I chose are the essential ones.

IMG_0467

IMG_0458

Gabs watched from inside and we were able to chat away with the screen open- she has quite the green thumb already. These fresh herbs were major players in the food we made for our date-at-home ‘Spanish style’!

IMG_5855

Since having Gabs, we have found some pretty fun ways to stay at home and yet still ‘go on a date’. Joe & I love to try new international foods, and so we decided to try our hand at spanish tapas for dinner. My brother in law spent a semester in Spain last year and told us all about the tapas that they would enjoy regularly- this sounded right up our alley! Plus, he brought back a super cute spanish dress for Gabby- she totally played the part for this date!

IMG_0452

We just googled “spanish tapas” and chose the recipes that sounded the best. Here’s what we enjoyed and HIGHLY recommend!

1. Pioneer Woman’s Bruschetta

IMG_0450

2. Shrimp & Chorizo Tapas

IMG_5852

IMG_0448

3. Stuffed Mushrooms

IMG_0447

IMG_0449

As you can probably see, my chorizo did not hold together, so we dubbed it ‘chorizo paste’ and used it as a spread- it’s all about rolling with the punches, guys. It all tasted SO good, and we enjoyed some wine that a dairy employee brought back for us from his homeland of Chile! It was a lovely and relaxing (and DELICIOUS) dinner date.

IMG_0451

I heard from numerous people before we had Gabs that it’s important to continue ‘dating’ your husband all throughout your marriage and especially once kids are in the picture! I’m sure every married person knows that dating does lose a little of it’s magic once you marry your spouse, and that’s why I think its especially important to try and make things extra special as the years go by. Sure, Joey and I know way more about each other now, so some of that mystery is no longer there, but we find that makes our love so much deeper. We know the good & not so good about each other… and keep on lovin’ on each other day after day. It gets more and more important to take the time to date your spouse as time goes by, because life gets busy. Even busier with kids! It’s so easy to get lost in the busyness of life, and when Joey & I take the time to sit, talk, & flirt a little, that ol’ dating thing gets the same excitement it always had.

Plus, it was fun to take a break from the typical weekday meals and spice it up with a little spanish flair!

If you’re married, take the time to schedule a date with your spouse this week! Make it your goal to get those cheeks blushin’ again- it’s crazy what a little flirting can do for your mood in a busy week.

~M

Leave a comment

Filed under Baby, Family, Food Stuffs.

Leave a Reply

