Homemade Nut Butter

Who in the world falls asleep while a food processor is whirring in the same room??

20130620-092409.jpg

My daughter, that’s who! This girl can nap anywhere- she gets that from her uncles. This morning I woke up and was going to head out for a run bright and early, but my tummy needed some fuel first. I popped some Ezekiel cinnamon raisin bread {the stuff is ah-mazing.} in the toaster and rummaged around in my fridge for some crack almond butter to spread on it.

20130620-092548.jpg

None left. The horror!

So, I made some. The timing wasn’t quite right, as the toast took about 45 sec and the nut butter took about 25 minutes, but its totally worth cold toast to make this stuff yourself. I even added some pure maple syrup to give it that extra wow factor and make me feel better about pushing off my run until 10 am.

20130620-092657.jpg

You can really use any nut you prefer, and toast them before processing to add some extra depth. You could add syrup & salt like I did, as well as cinnamon or vanilla! The possibilities are endless. It’s really more of a technique than a recipe- just dump a few handfuls of almonds into a food processor and let er rip. Add the extras a little later in the game and just let the processor do it’s thang for about 13-15 minutes. I followed HEAB’s instructions!

20130620-092810.jpg

My favorite has always been maple almond butter. It’s so worth it to make it yourself, as raw almonds are $14 for 3 lbs at your local fruitstand, whereas a small jar of prepared almond butter is $7! Yikes. You could make a gallon of almond butter from a 3 lb bag of the raw ones!

20130620-092840.jpg
Your choice. Just give your food processor a few minutes to breathe every now and then, otherwise it could get tired and quit. Not that that happened to me or anything… 😉

20130620-092908.jpg

Enjoy your Thursday!

~M

Leave a comment

Filed under Food Stuffs.

Leave a Reply

