A MOP and a MOPPET

20130910-212422.jpg

Yesterday’s MOPS was FANTASTIC! It started off fabulously by me being late (last minute wardrobe change due to surprise spit-up) and still getting a prime parking spot smack-dab in the front entrance. A kind MOPS leader waved me down and ushered me into the spot, and then helped me find the MOPPETS room for Gabby and made me feel so welcome!

20130910-212345.jpg

I walked in and was immediately welcomed by many other moms and leaders and quick hopped in the food line to grab some grub before the meeting started. Darn, I didn’t get a snapshot of the brunch spread, but the MOPS leaders sure put together some delicious food for us.

We all were seated at tables with some people we already knew, and some people we didn’t. I loved this, because I felt comfortable but still got to mingle with some sweet ladies I didn’t know before.

20130910-212400.jpg

Treat bags made for us by our awesome leaders who happen to by my aunt-in-law and cousin-in-law!

The theme this year for MOPS is “A Beautiful Mess”. The leaders introduced themselves by giving their names, and shared a picture of the messiest place in their home- that took some courage! I absolutely loved that they started the morning out this way. They were so real, and it was refreshing! The ladies at our table were also so funny and honest- we played a few ‘mixer games’ and got to learn a few interesting things about each other.

Being able to share this time with other “beautifully messy” moms was (and is) going to be a huge blessing for me this year. I absolutely love being a mom, and have a wonderfully happy baby, and supportive husband. Even having all those wonderful things, I still sometimes feel like a mess! And this year is going to be about embracing that. No matter how perfect I try to be, I’m never going to be- it’s all about the beauty that can come out of those difficult spots.

20130910-212409.jpg

I especially liked this snippet from our theme paper today: “Moms often feel like a mess. They are exhausted, under-showered, and hormonal. Their past and present circumstances and decisions can leave them feeling inadequate for God’s love and purposes. A Beautiful Mess- reminds moms that beauty can come out of their difficult spots. The grime of mothering young children brings the beauty of motherhood. The bruises of life can bring God’s redemption. Embrace Your Story- reminds moms that their past, present, and future can be used for good. God knows where each of us has been, where we are today, and has set in motion where we are headed.”

I only have the one kiddo, and get cranky when our house isn’t picked up. Ooooh boy, Mon- this MOPS sesh was meant for you.

20130910-212352.jpg

I loved this quote on our table too! (I know, I know, is there anything I didn’t love??) Last week was a rough week in our house- Gabby was sick with a cough and she was waking up every 3 hours throughout the night, and I had a hard time getting used to that schedule after being used to her sleeping through the night. That translated into me being short with my husband, (who is awesome, because he just easily accepted my apology, hugged me and told me to take a nap) and then I felt horrible for being short-tempered. Then I felt even more horrible because I thought, “I only have one kid?! What’s going to happen to me when I have eleven???” KIDDING.

I’m tellin’ ya though, that guilt cycle is vicious. Gotta control it with some prayer and MOPS. ¬†EMBRACE bring imperfect.

Because that is what we all are. Beautifully. Even if you’re not a mom yet, everyone needs to know they are not alone and be reminded of God’s bigger purpose for us.

‘For we are God’s masterpiece. He has created us anew in Christ Jesus, so we can do the good things he planned for us long ago.’ Ephesians 2:10

~M

P.S. It’s my mom-in-law’s birthday today! We are going to celebrate tonight by going to the family favorite Mexican restaurant in town. My MIL is one of the strongest, gentlest people I know (yes, she manages to be both at once!) and I love her a LOT. A lot, a lot. She has been a big role model in my life, and also raised me a wonderful husband. Thanks Mom!

IMG_6712

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

