Brown Sugar Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is probably my favorite snack to have on hand. At all times. Just writing about it now makes me want to hop back in the kitchen and whip it up… but seeing as we have 3/4 of a cheesecake in our fridge right now, maybe I’ll hold off on that idea for now.

For now….

Meanwhile I’ll just talk about how much I love this cake! The title of the recipe is a mouthful, but once you bite into it, you’ll see why the long title is such a GOOD mouthful!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I got this recipe from one of my favorite blogs, Eat Live Run. What’s kind of funny is that I had the SAME issue that she did when she blogged about it!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My poor snackie cake didn’t want to come out of the pan. (By the way, it’s kind of a rule of mine that whenever I bake with chocolate chips, I always add oh, about a cup more than the recipe calls for. Sorry I’m not sorry!!)

Luckily, I have had to do facial reconstruction surgery on a cake before…. remember? So I was more than prepared for this little mishap.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

If you want to see muuuch better pictures, head over to Jenna’s website! It’s kind of funny the similarities that we had in our baking experience.

So the reconstructive surgery that I had to do on this cake made it a little difficult to cut into nice slices… also maybe the fact that I cut it while it was still piping hot. I couldn’t wait, ok!? I ended up cutting each slice in half and put them in little baggies… and right into the freezer.

Is it weird that I think the best way to eat this cake is while its frozen? Don’t knock it til you’ve tried it! It’s great warm too, but there’s something just so exciting about knowing that you have as long as you want to enjoy this little loaf cake… whereas it might be dangerous to leave on the counter all the time. But hey, either way is juuust fine!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Here’s the recipe!! Don’t forget to check out Eat, Live, Run– she has tons of recipes I use all the time and she’s super fun to read!

 

Enjoy!

 

~M

 

Brown Sugar Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

serves one. Just kidding. Serves however many you want to share with!

Ingredients

2 cups pastry flour ( I used whole wheat pastry flour, I’ve never tried this recipe with regular AP flour so I can’t vouch for the turnout)

1.5 cups packed dark brown sugar

3 eggs

1 tsp baking powder

1/4 tsp salt

2 sticks (1 cup) salted butter, soft

1 tsp vanilla extract

1-2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (up to you on the choc chip ratio!)

Directions

Preheat the oven to 325.

In a medium sized bowl, combine your flour, baking powder and salt. Set aside.

Cream together your soft butter and brown sugar. When it’s light and fluffy, add the eggs one at a time (being careful not to get the shells in the butter!) and then the vanilla. Beat until creamy and well combined.

Add the flour mixture to the butter mixture and beat only until incorporated. Fold in your chocolate chips.

Spread batter into a greased loaf pan and bake for 75-90 minutes, or until a knife comes out clean when stuck in the middle. The top of the cake will get quite dark…this is normal. Let cool in the pan for ten 30-40 minutes before turning out and serving.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Brown Sugar Chocolate Chip Loaf Cake

  1. Pingback: Almond Butter Chocolate Chip Cookies {Gluten-Free Option} | dutch sisters create

Leave a comment